New York State initiated the Driver Responsibility Program in 2004. In addition to the fines, fees, penalties and surcharges you would pay for a traffic conviction, the program imposes an additional fine on drivers in certain circumstances, to be paid annually for three years.
The Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee is applicable when you receive six or more points on your New York driving record during a period of 18 months, and the violations occurred in NY State, Quebec or Ontario. The annual fee is $100 per year for three years, totaling $300. Once you have reached six points, each additional point will result in an additional fine of $25 per year for three years. If your points total 11 or more, you will lose your license.
Click here more information about the NYS Points System.